Avocado and Fried Egg Tartine

Lately, I’ve been indulging in the 4 packs of avocados at my nearest Trader Joe’s. It’s all relative though- less than a dollar each for a creamy fruit, pebbled green on the outside and mildly sweet on the inside, perfect with just a sprinkling of sea salt and cracked black pepper, or a squeeze of lemon juice. I find that avocados have a way of elevating the humblest of meals- a simple salad, an omelette, or in this case, a breakfast sandwich.

A few mornings ago, my rumbly post-jog appetite inspired me to make a tartine-basically an open-faced sandwich- with my little green gems. I wanted to satisfy all my cravings: salty, crunchy, creamy, sweet. So I piled avocado and a handful of crumbled feta onto a sliced of toasted buckwheat walnut bread from the bakery I work at. Then I  fried up an egg with some good olive oil to top it off. The salty feta and black pepper cut the richness of the avocado, and the fried egg rendered the whole thing warm, filling, and decadent without being heavy. I devoured the whole thing on my back deck, where I have been enjoying some unseasonably early spring warmth.

 

Couldn’t wait to take a bite.

img_10893

Ingredients

  • Half an avocado, sliced
  • about 1/4 cup crumbled feta
  • 1 egg
  • 1 slice whole grain bread
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  1. toast the bread; top with sliced avocado and feta
  2. pour olive oil into pan placed over medium-low heat; allow to warm up
  3. crack egg into pan; when white seems set, use a spatula to carefully fold egg in half. allow yolk to set.
  4. top toast with egg, sprinkle generously with salt and black pepper.

Leave a Reply

