Bittersweet Chocolate Brownies with Baileys Glaze

Though I live in Boston- the veritable epicenter of St. Patrick’s Day festivities in America (and maybe the world)- I didn’t celebrate the holiday with the prerequisite green beer and beads this past weekend. Instead I made pizza and drank wine with a few close friends. A let-down to my heritage? Maybe. Embarrassing to admit publicly? Only if you think so. I did, however, acknowledge St. Patrick with a nip of Baileys, the sweet milky liqueur redolent of coffee and toasted nuts.

I always feel pizza and wine necessitate chocolate, so I decided to make brownies and drizzle them generously with a boozy glaze, courtesy of my little nip of Baileys. I usually use a box mix for brownies, but I wanted to make them from scratch this time, so I used a recipe from Matt Lewis of Baked bakery in Brooklyn (which I discovered via Martha Stewart).

These bars are rich but not gooey, with a barely-crisp top and moist center. They taste of cocoa, butter, and of course, the famous Irish liqueur, and get even better after a couple days. If you have Baileys left over from your own celebration, consider making a batch- or at the very least make the glaze and look to Betty Crocker for the rest. Cheers.

Ingredients: Brownies 

(marthastewart.com)

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder (I used Ghirardelli)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 stick butter, plus more for pan
  • 3/4 teaspoon instant espresso powder
  • 5 ounces semisweet chocolate, finely chopped (again, I used Ghirardelli)
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup light-brown sugar (I used dark-brown sugar)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips (I used 2 ounces of chopped semisweet Ghirardelli chocolate)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter an 8 by 8 inch pan, line with parchment paper, and butter paper (you could probably skip this, but it makes lifting the bars out a lot easier).
  2. Sift together flour, cocoa powder, and salt. Set aside.
  3. Combine butter and espresso powder in a large heavy-bottomed saucepan over low heat. Stir until butter has melted.
  4. Add chocolate, and stir until chocolate is melted. Remove from heat and stir in both sugars until well-combined.
  5. Add eggs and vanilla and keep stirring until mixture is smooth. Sift in flour and stir until just combined. Do not overmix! Stir in chocolate chips or chopped chocolate.
  6. Pour batter into pan and use a spatula to smooth the top. Bake until a toothpick inserted into center comes out with a few moist crumbs, 26-28 minutes. Let cool on wire rack.
  7. Drizzle with glaze (recipe follows). I dipped a spoon into the glaze and slowly waved spoon above the pan to make “stripes”. I like to do this in stages, allowing 5 or so minutes to pass between each time I drizzle, so that I can layer more and more glaze while maintaining the stripe effect.
  8. I cut my brownies into long “fingers” (I think the finger shape is more conducive to perfect bites, and looks especially aesthetically pleasing with the stripes of glaze; glaze and cut as you wish). If you choose this shape, the pan will make 12-14 bars. Serve with milk, or alternatively, more Baileys.
Ingredients (glaze)
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar, plus more if needed
  • 3-4 tablespoons Baileys
  1. Pour powdered sugar into small bowl. Pour a couple tablespoons Baileys into sugar and mix with a fork  or whisk, adding more Baileys to make a glaze that slowly drips off a spoon.

Leave a Reply

